The Writers' Group 9,308 members · 56,630 stories
Comments ( 142 )
  • Viewing 1 - 50 of 142

As a writer, I find this very disheartening.

A week ago I published the first chapters of story 2 the same day as I had published a chapter in story 1. As documented and understood, story 2 did not appear on the front page. I had expected that. That’s the 24-hour rule.

Today, I published a new chapter in story 2. This meant that this was the first time the story appeared on the front page. It appeared in the updates column, as expected.

After pressing publish, I went to the front page (clicked the FimFiction logo), then clicked the story (second-click) to go back to the story page. This took no more than one minute, probably closer to 30 seconds.

I found two down-votes where previously there had been none!

That’s a total of two down-votes and six previous up-votes. I checked the statistics to make sure. After the time it took me to write this post (45 minutes), my view count remains at the 64 from before I published the chapter. The evidence convinces me none of the down-votes came from anyone who read a chapter or clicked through to the story page to read the long description.

In my experience, I often get at least one down-vote first. I almost alway get at least one down-vote within the first ten minutes. This is the first time I was paying enough attention to document it happened so quickly.

Has this happened to you?

Any ideas what’s going on here? Or is it just bad behavior?

Bendy #2 · Jan 14th, 2022 · · 2 ·

Downvotes are a necessary evil. Unless it's a bot then yes. You're right.

It could be a number of factors. The person simply dislikes the story so they downvote. A troll person who literally downvotes everything they see without even reading it. Perhaps you have some person who hates you specifically and simply downvotes by seeing your username alone. It could be all sorts of things.