The Writers' Group 9,331 members · 56,843 stories
Comments ( 18 )
  • Viewing 1 - 50 of 18

Sadly, I've had to make this choice more often than I would have like with stories both in progress and in development. I have a story sitting in my stories list waiting to be submitted, but it probably won't ever see the light of day because of my distaste for most clop and my inability to write it with a bit of conviction and confidence. The others died off die to an inability to keep it going properly.

Have you ever quit on a story of yours? Why?

2115084 I'm currently debating cancelling a story of mine... I just don't know if I'll ever get around to it ever again.

2115084 I quit my first fic, Icarus, about 8 chapters in (I think), because I'm past it. That was when I was a God-awful writer and I was completely uncreative.
(I'm not exactly "good" right now, but I'm better at writing than I was.)

Yeah, usually just because I can't nail the beginnings. Yes, multiple. I have 7 stories posted but about twenty sitting around in my stories section waiting for me to write more than 500 words in them.

Lots of plans, not so good as following through with them. And tehre's this one story that I'm really not sure I'll be able to finish, despite actually having a plan and being something like 30 chapters into the fool thing.

2115084 Nope. Everything is at least vaguely planned out in my mind before I even put pen to paper. If you're stumped with clop I highly recommend trying something else. Though I must ask, if you don't like clop (like me) then why are you writing it?

I've quit stories that were either generic or just... stupid. I've come CLOSE to deleting one of my most popular stories. If you feel like you should delete a story, give it some crucial thought, because tomorrow, you might just have the urge to write again. Then where will you be? Unless you, like, not delete it or something.

I really hate canceling a story, but it seems to happen a lot.