Write For Fun, Not Fame 1,243 members · 5,498 stories
Comments ( 15 )
  • Viewing 1 - 50 of 15

I'd like to start off by saying how glad I am that this group exists. This won't be a complaint thread, but it will touch on issues this group was based on.

I used to enjoy writing. I loved the feeling of weaving an intricate tale that I poured my emotions and energy into. The feeling of creating original characters (I'm one of those dreaded HiE writers your parents warned you about), and writing out the canon characters in different situations was an uplifting and happy one. I'd even go so far as to say that it made me feel accomplished. Until one day...

...I began to notice the more popular (and talented) writers: Cold in Gardez, shortskirtsandexplosions, Bad Horse, et al. Then I became aware of the fact that I was an amateur. Granted, I knew that before I started writing, but I wasn't concerned with it. I was just writing and enjoying the feeling of creating something, but a switch was flipped in my mind, causing me to compare my [lack of] skill to these "site gods".

I then became obsessed with wanting to be on the same "level" as these authors, with visions of grandeur floating through my mind. I wanted to write the next "Past Sins" type of story, ultimately skyrocketing my popularity to the heavens. Unfortunately, I knew that it was an unobtainable goal for me, because it would take far more work than I wanted to do to get to that level; writing was merely a hobby for me, and I don't have a fancy degree from a big university like some of the popular writers do. I didn't want to study every iota of information about writing, just so I could write better; I wanted to do it by just writing, but I knew that it wouldn't be enough.