The Writers' Group 9,300 members · 56,457 stories
Comments ( 14 )
  • Viewing 1 - 50 of 14

This is for those of you who aren't total noobs at writing. Don't worry, I'm not talking about you. You're not the noob. I'm talking about that other person who's not you. Yeah, him.

Anyway.

If you've been looking around the internet learning how to write for a while, you may have seen this advice:

Don't say "She saw the alicorn OC rip Celestia to shreds with pure angst." Instead, just say "The alicorn OC ripped Celestia to shreds with pure angst." It's much cleaner, you get rid of unnecessary words, and it's not bloody stupid.

This is solid advice. I'm not saying that you shouldn't follow it.

But.

Have you heard of "third person limited," aka "the best bucking perspective you can ever write in?"

Awesome, you've heard of it. Yes you have, don't lie to me. Okay, fine, here's a link: [Linkeroni]

Now, in this perspective, you only know the thoughts of one character for sure. And your description is going to be framed by going through that character's thoughts. You can only describe what that character knows. If she doesn't hear the two men behind her plotting her murder, then you can't mention it. Now, I could go more in depth here but that's not what this post is about. Maybe later.

What this post is about is using probabilities. Many many many professional writers will give you advice that basically says to never show uncertainty. Say the rope is five feet long, say the person grimaced, yadda yadda yadda.

That's called "show don't tell." This is good because you can describe what the other people you can't think as are feeling by saying, "hey, she's crying. That means she's sad."

But.

If for some reason you're going the "tell" route (and there are many legitimate reasons to do so), you can be uncertain. You can say someone "seemed" sad. I mean, not really. You have to really use it because you can't use anything else.