I Hate Equestria Daily 641 members · 642 stories
Comments ( 22 )
  • Viewing 1 - 50 of 22

As an author, I've had an absolutely terrible time dealing with blog ponies. Possibly the worst of any author.

I had a story that got up on EqD with this for cover art:

This was during the period when there was a small and stupid, but vocal group of anti lesbian shipping white knights. The comments quickly had about six to ten of them, complaining about how an image of kissing was entirely inappropriate. (No, not even joking.)
And for some god damn reason, I guess ten people getting angry over something, no matter how asinine, is enough to make the blog ponies panic and cave. The blog ponies quickly changed the image of kissing (how vulgar!) to some nearly irrelevant piece of art that was really poorly drawn (no offense to that artist). It took about two hours for them to decide to reverse the change, but I'd already lost a lot of respect for how the site's run after that.

The second thing, is that there's no system in place for authors to send any email other than [Story Update] to the blog ponies. I've changed the cover art on two of my fics, and each time I had four ignored emails each time, before the new cover art was finally changed. Now the latest problem, is that I've completed a story--a system I thought they surely had better in place than changing cover art. I sent in an email with the subject [Story Update Complete], figuring they can't really miss it saying the story is complete, both in the title and as the third line of a three line email.

Nope, haha! Guess I'm just going to have to spam their inbox until they actually put it in queue to be posted!