School for New Writers 5,012 members · 9,620 stories
Comments ( 10 )
  • Viewing 1 - 50 of 10
Bluegrass Brooke
Group Contributor

Hello there. For those of you who don't know, I'm Bluegrass Brooke. I'm a new teacher here, specializing in third person slice of life and romance. Anywho, today I'd like to go over a topic that may seem a little soft, but one that is incredibly important for any story, writing from the character's perspective. This lecture will be geared towards slice of life stories, though it should be applicable to any genre. As always with my lectures, this is entirely my own opinion. Take some of it, none of it, or all of it as you see fit.

When you write a story, how do you approach it? Is your story active, or is it passive? An active story takes advantage of a certain character's perspective, allowing the reader to become gradually invested in that character. A passive story does the opposite, preventing the reader from being connected with your characters. This is absolutely the worst possible way to write a slice of life (and may I argue any) story. If readers are not invested in your characters, they won't be invested in your story. So how can we approach our stories so that they are written in an active manner?

Detachment is what leads to writing in a passive manner. Detachment either from the author's side or the reader's side is always a recipe for disaster. This often comes from the approach an author takes to a story. If you're viewing the story as x happens then y happens as a result, you're just asking for detachment. What you should do, is start not with the plot, but with the characters.