Cheesepie 89 members · 107 stories
Comments ( 19 )
  • Viewing 1 - 50 of 19
Bluegrass Brooke
Group Admin

It's your neighborhood CheesePie author, Bluegrass. I realized recently that there hasn't been a lot of CheesePie activity for some time now. This group only has one thread! Thank you Pinkie's Drifting Heart. So, being the wordy, and motivated woman that I am, I thought it might be fun to do something CheesePie related. And, as an admin, I felt like I needed to do something useful for the group. :derpytongue2:

Anywho (yes, that is my favorite word), I've come up with a fun little idea for us to get back into the CheesePie spirit. I notice that a lot of us CheesePie authors (and readers) get stuck in a style rut so to speak. We write (or read) stories with the same consistent "mood" to them, often in the same genre and universe. When you stick to what you know, it produces a consistent product, but it also limits your experience with other "moods" and genres. Personally, I think that makes me rusty in areas I should be up-keeping. Just because you don't need the extra car right now, doesn't mean you should let it rot in the scrap yard.

So, in light of this, I propose an activity that you may or may not find enjoyable. Why not "swap" preferences with other authors and readers? For authors, we'd write a short description about us, and our preferences. Then we'd give a brief description of a typical scene you might write in one of your stories. Then, another author (preferably with an opposite interest) would take that scene and write it out. The scenes would be short, no more than 300 words or so. The author who had their scene taken writes the other author's scene. That way, we get practice writing different genres, moods, and whatnot.