Anti-Depression Ponies 1,888 members · 2,441 stories
Comments ( 8 )
  • Viewing 1 - 50 of 8

Nothing in my life goes right. Can't leave my crappy job (I apply for jobs, interview for them, make myself as presentable as possible, still don't get them), can't get a single date with any woman, can't make friends, can't be successful as a writer, I can't even move out of my mom's house at the age of 28. I don't even have the excuse of some debilitating illness that forced me to not progress as well as everybody else. I only have myself to blame for my own failures. Maybe I committed some horrible crime in a past life and this is my punishment, or I'm just a lazy failure.

7863978 You're still doing better than any other species on Earth. Other animals don't know if they'll go hungry tomorrow or not. You, on the other hoof, are taken care of. You have your basic needs met. You know you'll survive.

You're doing well. Keep at it.

What do you mean, failure as a writer? Your stories have decent numbers of likes and negligible dislikes.

As for looking for a new job, there are plenty of opportunities. Don't see yourself as a failure, see yourself as a late bloomer.

These are all things you can work on. You're not a failure, as long as you can move forward. There may be something you don't know about holding you back, but there's value in the struggle to improve. As you work more and more to improve you'll find it coming easier and easier. Now some things may never improve, finding a partner is a difficult thing, and that's not a failure. It's just something that happens. As for friends, that's also hard. Maybe find hobby shops, or game stores that let you hang out and talk to people. Yeah, you may not get any close friends, at least to start, but you'll probably find some interesting people.
I'm not religious, but I'm often reminded of this simple prayer (or maybe it's not a prayer, but I've always heard it as one.)