Anti-Depression Ponies 1,885 members · 2,414 stories
Comments ( 27 )
  • Viewing 1 - 50 of 27

Hey everyone,

I'm a 24 year old male and I've struggled with depression for a long time, but I'll keep my story to mostly about the last year and a half because that's when my real downward spiral suffering began. It's also a very long story but I'll try to keep it as brief as possible though I apologize if it is kinda lengthy. I wouldn't usually do this, but I've really been taking a lot of solace in the fandom lately and I'm posting here to maybe help feel a little less alone and hopeless for reasons I'll get to later. Anyone in this wonderful fandom who reads this and responds would be highly appreciated and really go a long way.

I graduated from college in May 2016. Ever since then I've kinda been lost as far as the direction I wanted to take my life. I struggled with depression and substance abuse throughout most of college, though I still managed to keep my grades up and have somewhat of a social life. I've been on numerous anti-depressants and have seen many counselors and whatnot over the years which all in all did basically nothing to help. Compared to more recent times it wasn't that bad though.

Anyway in August 2016 out of the blue I started to have random bouts of just severe excruciating pain in my lower back. It probably happened once every 3-4 days or so. Eventually I went to a doctor who determined it was likely a kidney stone stuck in one of my ureters. For anyone who's ever had one of those... you know how bad it is. It's so painful it makes you vomit even though it has nothing to do with your stomach, like somebody stabbing you in the back for several hours straight. So after a month and half of this, I eventually had a surgical procedure called a cystoscopy where basically the surgeon removes the stone.