School for New Writers 5,012 members · 9,625 stories
Comments ( 46 )
  • Viewing 1 - 50 of 46

Hey guys, I'm Darklordcomp and I'm a new professor to the school, and I am here to destroy your concept on what you thought you knew about writing!

Who is Pinkie Pie? That isn't a good question ask again. What is Pinkie Pie? There that’s much better.

Pinkie Pie is Pinkie Pie, but what she isn't is a device to break the 4th wall, she isn't always going to be your slap stick comic relief whore, and she isn't always going to be funny. You have to understand that and transcend that so that you may write her properly.

So many authors write Pinkie Pie poorly and they don't understand why people get mad at them for “Ruining their favorite pony.”

Well lets force you to understand,shall we?

In order to write Pinkie Pie correctly you have to look at how she acts in the show and use that. She is a caring, fun loving filly who loves to play jokes and have fun. Okay thats simple, but then you have to look deeper. She's smart, I mean really smart and she may be silly but she isn't that annoying twelve year old who stole your pencil in 7th grade either. You can't make her out to be immature, because while she does act zany and carefree she isn't immature. She has her moments where she could be called Immature but then again so does every character in the show, even Princess Celestia. But that doesn't mean you have to play on that part of the characters personalities.

She is misused in fanfiction because her character is so over the top that people view her as ALWAYS being immature, so you my students need to look past her over the top character and writer her like you write every other character in the show.