Humanized Ponies! 3,473 members · 5,606 stories
Comments ( 10 )
  • Viewing 1 - 50 of 10

We know that there's not a lot of people born a natural purple or with rainbows on their heads, neither as much into dying their heads into crazy pastel-y colors.

Since I'm new to this humanized, how do you guys deal with hair colors?
I though of giving the mane six natural colors that in spirit are the same as the pony's manes but aren't the same.
Like both Rarity and Twilight having black hair, Pinkie being a redhead and Rainbow Dash either white or grey hair and Fluttershy having light orange hair, but I'm still not sure about how is generally handled.

In fan art, at least, I've seen it done all sorts of ways. Write whatever you feel like.

Generally hair stays true to the show, keeping all the crazy colors.
But if you want to go and make them much closer to human instead, go for it.
Changing It isnt the norm if thats what youre asking, but I doubt anyone will get too upset if you want to change it.

I prefer sticking with the original colors and would write them as such if I made a human story, but there's nothing wrong with such a change. Go for it. lol

I just stick with the original colors, and do variations in the style.
Example: I write Dash with very short (sometimes buzzed) rainbow hair, and Luna with a blue ponytail.

Rainbow Dash either white or grey hair

Unless your humanizing them as middle-aged/older, white or grey isn't a whole lot less crazy-animu style than a rainbow.

Most of the humanizations I've seen keep the original colors. If you want natural colors, then it really depends on how you've humanized their personalities. Is your humanized Dash a biker or a punk or a navy/marine/air force pilot, or whatever? Same with Pinkie, either one could be into a scene where dying your hair crazy ass colors makes perfect sense. Or (in the case of a military Dash) in a position where crazy colors is verbotten.

Also, don't forget strawberry blond as an option.