Christian Bronies of the Reformation 92 members · 227 stories
Comments ( 12 )
  • Viewing 1 - 50 of 12

Video is from the Veritas Forum. Lots of interesting discussions. I am still new to what they present, but it appears consistently well-reasoned and intelligent as they discuss deep issues.

Direct link

Personally, I find that if one accepts the idea that there is universal human goodness, or universal and unalterable moral qualities, one is effectively agreeing to the existence of a soul in every person. In order to claim there is a baseline from which goodness should being with, you must acknowledge that existence isn't pure chance and chaos, but instead has a certain external direction. One does not need to identify said external direction (be it God or anything else) in order to take this view. I would also suggest a person believing in the existence of a soul will fundamentally work to encourage them to better behavior in some fashion. Belief in something positive beyond your pure physical form will typically induce such tendencies, from my personal experience in life.

5638760 I believe there is a soul in everyone. Weather you are religious or not, as long as you try your best to do good your soul will reflect that. I know an Atheist and she's very kind so I think her soul must be pretty pure (Despite what she says)

Time Reaper
Group Admin

This isn't a bad idea, I'll use it whenever I get the chance to evangelize somebody.

Recon777
Group Contributor

The soul is simply... you. A person is not their body or even their brain. Human life is not physical. We are simply attached to our bodies. This is easier to understand in modern times than in ages past. We have movies like Avatar or the Matrix which depict an analogous system. In Avatar, the body was controlled remotely. The "person" was not in the body. In real life, there is a similar separateness. The body can die, but you, as a person, merely disconnect.