Anti-Depression Ponies 1,888 members · 2,441 stories
Comments ( 10 )
  • Viewing 1 - 50 of 10
Deep #1 · Aug 2nd, 2023 · · 1 ·

More of a rant post, but I feel the need to vent.

For everyone who doesn't know, I have Elhers Danlos. Tore both of my hips at age 19/20 from walking (seriously :rainbowlaugh:), and at one point literally did not have the upper body strength and joint stability to hold a cup of coffee or lift a remote control overhead. For at least 6 years, I couldn't sit, stand or lie down without pain. Oftentimes, standing for literally 10 seconds would cause pain.

Currently, I'm 29 and have almost entirely resolved my shoulder, elbow, wrist, and knee issues. According to my physical therapist, my remaining issue is with the left hip, and I'm hopeful I can get this fixed by my 30th birthday. So yay, right? However, I'm pissed that this endless barrage of pain and inability to live a normal life took away my 20s. Yes, despite the symptoms I graduated with a PharmD, got married, made memories, etc. However, it definitely took a toll on my mental health, oftentimes leading me to lose all desire to have fun or do my hobbies for months.

Yes, I know I should focus on how much I improved my condition, what I did despite it, and on the PT required to get to the finish line. I know all that mentally, but emotionally all I see is everything I couldn't do in my 20s. I'm obviously going to make up for that lost time in my 30s, but it still pisses me off. It feels like time stopped at 19 for me, and I'm only now about to restart my life when this is all over by hopefully age 30.

Like I said, just a rant post but feel free to respond. I know I'm giving in to my anger, but it's hard not to :twilightangry2: