Fixing the Finale 169 members · 184 stories
Comments ( 16 )
  • Viewing 1 - 50 of 16

I am not an expert on the subject but i did some research and it seems to be the case about the relationship of Discord and Fluttershy at least to me.

Some victims stay loyal to their abusers despite the pain they caused. From what i have gathered, this is the conclusion:
Some victims want the abuse to end, not the relationship. A victim may return to the abuser because that is the person they love, and believes their promises to change regardless how many times they broke those promises.

This is the only logical explanation i can come up with why Fluttershy stays with Discord after backstabbing them twice. But if i am wrong, please correct me.

It seems to be one of those instances of the MLP writers coming up with something and not considering the implications. I don't think Fluttershy has Stockholm Syndrome; Discord didn't keep her captive or recondition her (knowingly/unknowingly) by forcing her to see things his way, nor does she appear to have a dependence on him or a fear of being away from him. Those that suffer from Stockholm syndrome typically experience stress, anxiety, depression, or feelings of helplessness when not in their captor's vicinity and are constantly looking for validation and affection from them. As demonstrated multiple times, Fluttershy has no issue contradicting Discord or putting him in his place, something a victim of SS would be unable to do.

Maybe i misused the term "stockholm syndrome". I read it is a thing that happens between kidnappers and hostages, but there was also a section mentioning something similar to abusive relationships, and i tought i could safely call it that. But what i described definitely happens in our reality. Is there an another term that used in this situation?

Stockholm syndrome may or may not actually be a thing, and Fluttershy probably doesn't have it regardless.

Hang on, this is a good video on it.