TANKS 187 members · 27 stories
Comments ( 5 )
  • Viewing 1 - 50 of 5

I'm still fairly new to tanks and I'm really curious about three specific Soviet tanks of WW2.

The tanks are the T-34/85, the KV-2, and the IS-2.

I'm not asking which one is the best. I'm curious about the driving mechanisms, reload process, performance, and so forth.

If someone with higher experience than me could answer, that'd be nice.

You might find some decent info on youtube, a professional military historian did a series called Inside the Chieftains Hatch, here's part one of the T34
(81) Inside the Chieftain's Hatch: T-34-85, Episode 1 - YouTube
Hope it helps :)
Things to say about the KV-2 and the IS-2. Not much, the KV series was notorious for being a pig to drive. Clutch was solid as rock and the gear box needed a hammer to change gears at times, plus it was grossly underpowered, altogether making it a bit of a basket case mechanically. Also the sheer size and poor weight distribution of the turret on the KV2 meant it could only rotate when the vehicle was more or less level. Extremely well armoured for an early war tank though. Broad tracks meant it handled unpleasant terrain surprisingly well, or at least better than German tanks. Overall crews were split on whether to love or hate it.
The only things that really stand out in my mind about the IS2 were the excellent frontal armour, could protect it from the infamous 88 deathray. had excellent mobility for a vehicle of it's size and weight. The Soviets had figured out most of the reliability issues, so it was fairly rugged. On the down side, the size of the main gun made the turret quite cramped and awkward to work in, plus the shell and charge had to be loaded separately, meaning it had a very low rate of fire.
If memory serves, all three used clutch and break steering mechanisms.
Another good source of info would be Tank Encyclopedia, the first online tank museum (tanks-encyclopedia.com)

https://m.