School for New Writers 5,012 members · 9,620 stories
Comments ( 6 )
  • Viewing 1 - 50 of 6
PegasusKlondike
Group Admin

Yeah, it's that time again. Another flailing, mostly uninformative attempt by a sorta-dropped-out community college student at teaching people who are most likely more qualified than he is to teach about the basics of writing in the English language. Shit, the only real thing that I'm actually qualified to teach is proper rifle range safety and the basics of shooting small-caliber rifles. And tomahawks. I can teach you to throw a wicked tomahawk.

And so I sit here, fresh from an invigorating jog, my fingers pounding the keys of an old and beaten laptop that has failed me more and more in the past few weeks than it has in years.

"What do you think you can teach me, Klondike? I'm a student/professional/Tralfamadorian that is far more experienced than you! You're a washed up has-been without the been!"

Yeah, you probably are more educated than myself, and probably a more creative writer than myself, the statistics are on your side. Statistics also say that you are a male, aged 18-34, likely in or graduated from college, and you're most likely single. After that last statement, you're also likely to be part of a growing demographic that wants to kick my ass. I'm also sensing that you have a thing for magic talking ponies. Don't ask me how I know that last one, it's just a hunch.

Now, before we go on, can you tell me what I just did? Besides the most likely misquoted statistics from the old brony census thing. In that odd little introduction, I used (terribly) all three types of sentences that are present within a story: Narrative, Dialogue, and Action.

Yeah, it's that time again. Another flailing, mostly uninformative attempt by a sorta-dropped-out community college student at teaching people who are most likely more qualified than he is to teach about the basics of writing in the English language.