Hazardous Writing Materials and Challenges 236 members · 336 stories
Comments ( 9 )
  • Viewing 1 - 50 of 9

So this is something where I'm genuinely not sure how to proceed, so I'm seeking help from my HazMat buddies and I think anyone else who's considering collaborating could benefit. So here goes...

How Does One Write a Good Collaboration?

In my situation, another writer and I are fans of each other's work and he proposed we do a collaboration, specifically a crossover fic. I thought this sounded like a fun idea and, since I've never done it before, I was psyched about it being a new experience. (Insert "be gentle, it's my first time" joke here.)

What We Did (i.e. the Part I Do Know How to Do):

1. Brainstorm: My partner and I started by tossing out ideas about how our respective universes could work together, expressing different ideas that we thought would work well in the story.

2. Outline: I wrote a proposed outline where I laid out the bare bones of the story. My partner, happy that I took the initiative, discussed the merits of it and made some suggestions on how we could improve it.

We then did a more detailed outline of how each individual scene would play out. We finally settled on it and we think we're good to go! Yep, everything's good, we just need to, well, write it! So, um...

How Do Two Authors Write Just One Story?
Yeah, that's the problem. I know it has been done before and I tried to do a little research on it, but I'm on the fence about what would work best and I don't want the story to suffer. So, here is what I've got:

1. The story is something that I write entirely myself or my partner does by himself and then the other person edits and critiques. This sounds the least like a collab to me, and I worry that it would end up sounding too much like the other person's style. Though, in fairness, it will easily sound the most "consistent" in terms of style, so that's something.