Weird Ideas Done Seriously 225 members · 562 stories
Comments ( 15 )
  • Viewing 1 - 50 of 15
The SideKick
Group Admin

Hey guys, I figured I'd get the first topic thread out there for ya'll with a general question. If you start to lose your motivation for your hobbys then how do you personally build it back up?

3868017 I would say, start small. Don't try to get back on the wagon exactly where you left off. Presumably, you're rusty so it's best to start too easy and build up steam or start too hard and fail completely.

In my case, I used to play a lot of Magic The Gathering until school and college applications pushed it to the back-burner. Starting again, I'm trying to make completely new decks, without eyeing the ones I made a while ago when I was an expert. I'm trying to work everything out again, playing with some friends before going back to FNMs and getting some idea of what went on in the sets I missed.

Additionally, if there's something else you associate with the hobby like a particular song or table or something, then sitting at that table or listening to the song will help you get back in the mood for it.

The SideKick
Group Admin

3868094 For me it's writing. I love working on my stories here and improving upon myself as a writer, but I've noticed something that prompted the me to make this thread. I use to have to work out of my local library because my computer had pooped out, and whenever I got on I would be going a mile a minuet for the two hours they gave me each day. But now that I have my new computer and all the time in the world it feels so much harder to get on and do anything. When I start I get a decent bit done, but I just can't seem to start without a lot of forcing on my part.