Authors Helping Authors 2,466 members · 8,681 stories
Comments ( 39 )
  • Viewing 1 - 50 of 39

Okay, so you got an idea in your head for a great story and you start to plan it out. You start formulating a beginning, middle, and an end and you fill the cast of character with a unique roster with a lot of personality. Then you start writing that first scene and something feels kind of off. You're not sure what is yet, but you decide to keep going and get to the end of the chapter, and when you put the last word on the page you feel very unsettled. The word on the page leave a bad taste in your mouth, so to speak, and you start to question whether or not you want to keep going. You start going over your mental notes and you start to notice a trend in the plot: your characters go from scene to scene reacting to the events around them and making choices that should have a profound effect on their character.
But here's the problem, and it's one I'm just beginning to understand enough to articulate, but the narrative is so plot driven that all your characters do is act and react. Simply put, that amazing cast of characters you put together could have been filled with just about anybody. It doesn't matter who did this and who did what, all that matters in the story is that it happened.
I'm not trying to say plot driven works can't make good literature. That's not what I'm saying at all. But it would probably be helpful to include some more character driven elements. Such as unpacking your characters' emotional baggage.
I know Mass Effect had a fantastic plot and was an amazing game, but some of the best moments were interacting with the NPCs and catching them interacting with each other. The developers gave you the opportunity to explore a character's baggage, and although our culture generally frowns on the idea of having baggage of any kind let alone sharing it with other people, that baggage is what makes readers invest in a character.