Comments ( 6 )
  • Viewing 1 - 50 of 6
Midnight Shadows
Group Admin

In this thread I want authors to put tips for each other in this thread. Things that they often see is done incorrectly grammar wise.

I'll start.

As an author I always found it hard when I started out to get the correct use of there, they're, their, to, too, and two. I often find other people making the same mistakes as I did so let me just give a short little tutorial on the proper use of these six words.

First two example sentences:

They're over there with their cat.

I want to see the two zebras too.

The easiest way for me to remember the proper use of these words, (Albeit probably the wrong way to remember) is that, too is usually right if you can substitute it with 'also.' For example the sentence "I want to see the two zebras too." You can substitute too with also, it doesn't flow as well but you can do it and it makes sense. To is usually directly after a verb, such as "I ran to the mall." "He is running to the store." "I am going to the park." Two is the simplest one to remember. Two equates to 2 and should not be used unless you are saying the number.