SALT Monthly Contest Archive 15 members · 11 stories
Comments ( 27 )
  • Viewing 1 - 50 of 27
Firebirdbtops
Group Admin

Alright, it's that time again. I know it is a busy time for all, but I think we can handle one little summary, don't you? Now, who shall prompt us this time? Hmmm. I guess we will go with the standby of next poster, but with a twist. The third poster will select from the two posters ahead of him. This way I still have a fair chance. Sound good?:eeyup:

For no better reason than I hate myself, I will be the 2nd option. I've never come up with a writing prompt before, but surely it can't be that hard, right? Right? please...? OhCelestiawhathaveIdone...

Aquillo
Group Admin

OtterMatt, you're up.

Aquillo
Group Admin

Also, Fire:

>Posting a practice round before the main competition even has an entry

Shediggity

FUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUU—yeah, okay then. Knew that was gonna happen. Well, I've never done this before, so let me know if I do well or not... :twilightsheepish: Oh yeah, and isn't this practice number 7, not 8?

As we all know, honesty is one of the Elements of Harmony, for good reason. Even half-truths or misleading statements can disrupt an interpersonal dynamic, with consequences ranging from the hilarious to dramatic to tragic and back again—but more than that, they often build on themselves.

Your synopsis prompt for this month is The First Lie.

There's very few restrictions. It can be in any genre, style, or flavor (I see a LOT of potential for comedy here), but the sole limiting factor is that it has to be in a short-story format: that is to say, your idea must be able to be written, by you, in less than 8000 words. Think creatively, and if it helps you, describe how you might lay out your story in addition to the mere idea (e.g., beginning in medias res, or simply focusing on the results of the actions rather than the actions themselves).

Aquillo
Group Admin

>The First Lie