Writing Renaissance 400 members · 1,968 stories
Comments ( 4 )
  • Viewing 1 - 50 of 4

I work as a Night Guard at a college, so I have some free time to kill on my shifts, so I've been watching a Youtube series from the Channel "Just Write"

The link to the playlist is here: https://www.youtube.com/playlist?list=PLaWLiMKNuKMmlM3WzA5PhxJu0SWegglmH

Start with Episode 31 and make your way backwards (the video order is reversed, the Game of Thrones episode is the first published)

The series focuses on all the different aspects of good storytelling and gives you examples in today's best works of fiction. Stand out episodes (of the ones I've watched so far) include the Game of Thrones and the importance of Empathy for not just the protagonist, but antagonists as well (Seriously, we all love Jamie Lannister, despite him being a horrible person), and the Legend of Korra episode and its heavy emphasis on Big Ideas (the shows four seasons dealing with Equality, Freedom, Anarchy and Fascism, as well as portraying PTSD in an accurate, if stylized, manner, and I say that as someone who suffers from PTSD.), how to take those over-arching story threads and meld them into a solid conclusion, and the importance of your primary antagonists not being one-dimensional baddies, but to have something that the protagonists can learn from them, and how to put the big baddie down in a satisfying way with poetic justice.

6519475 I envy your job.