The Skeptics’ Guide to Equestria 60 members · 79 stories
Comments ( 19 )
  • Viewing 1 - 50 of 19
Walabio
Group Admin

I once worked my way up to management. Management sucks. I now have a UnionJob where I am part of the crew. As a manager, I learned that the almost universal policy of being able to fire employees who are more than 1 minute late 3 times in 28 days (20 workdays) exists just so that over half the workforce is fireable at all times. This makes cutting the workforce quickly easy.

As a manager, I decided on this policy:

1. If someone is late once in a week, let it slide because, as the old saying goes, fæces occur.
  2. If an employee is late twice in a week, talk with the employee and point out that this is the 2nd time in a week.
  3. If an employee is late 3 times, in a week, talk with the employee and point out that if the employee does not want to come to work on time, the employee does not have to come to work at all.
  4. If the employee is late 4 times in 1 week, fire the employee.

I only had to resort to # 2 an handful of times, and never had to resort to # 3 or # 4.

I moved on to current job. Back in 2019, I was all set to leave the house and be at work 5 minutes early, so that I could punch into the clock right on the hour, when I could not find my keys. I wasted 10 minutes looking for them. I accidently washed them.) .I already had 2 tardies in the last 28 days, so had to hustle. Long story short, I ended up in a double-late-for-work accident. That is what the cop called it:

The cop after taking my statement, in the hospital said that he was 90% sure that it was a DLFWA (double-late-for-work accident, just after 9 AM. When he saw it, he was certain. Basically, over 90% of traffic-accidents within plus or minus 5 minutes of 09:00:00 AM are DLFWAs. He took the other guys statement at the scene, as the paramedics placed me into an ambulance (I had 3 broken limb).