Warriors of Equestria 1,781 members · 1,454 stories
Comments ( 9 )
  • Viewing 1 - 50 of 9

For those who have human characters who seem way too OP with a bow.

https://youtu.be/BEG-ly9tQGk

Wonder if there’s someone who did the same thing with swords.

wow i am more like a sniper so a bow or sniper gun works for me

Lars Andersen is a lying ass. What he does is trick shooting that has nothing to do with real, historical war archery:

THAT is actual warbows in action. Lars couldn’t even draw one of those things, let alone pull his little stunts with them.

Look right below
Yep long bows were a symbol of strength, it was even a symbol of Heracles/Hercules.

I’ve been studying warbow archery for about six years, now. People just don’t seem to get that a bow isn’t just . . . pull back the string and then the arrows penetrates anything it hits. It’s a spring. Drawing it back compresses it, which builds energy. But it also takes energy to do so. Drawing a bow of any decent draw weight requires a LOT of physical strength.

Most of the bows that Lars uses are nothing more than practice bows and youth target bows, probably don’t have a draw weight of much over twenty pounds of pressure. Most warbows have draw weights of 80 - 100 pounds, minimum.

Suffice to say, the classic pop culture image of the skinny teenager using a bow, while the big muscle bound dude swings a sword around, should actually be reversed. A bow requires a lot of physical strength, while the sword actually requires relatively little.

Yeah, it is weird to me. Me and my best friend understand a little bit. Long bow men had to train I guess for ten years in order to effectively use it, but they could put out arrows with more range, accuracy, and even rate of fire than a musket, so they are even on the super soldier TV tropes page.

We should have an archer category in the stories.