Behind The Fic(s) 134 members · 355 stories
Comments ( 2 )
  • Viewing 1 - 50 of 2

Hello Everypony,

I'm Dramacolt, and I'm an experienced writer on FIMfiction, having been active for the past three years. I came across this group and found the overall concept very cool to explain the thought process of fanfiction, as I have had a lot of process for all of my stories. I'll be using this thread to discuss my stories and how I came to write them all. I hope you enjoy.

Samhainophobia:

This was the very first story I've ever written, both fanfiction and in general. This tells the story of Fluttershy finding the courage to go out and enjoy herself on Nightmare Night, with the help of her friends. Inspiration for the story began in the summer of 2012 (Around the same time I joined the fandom) after watching a video mash-up of Luna Eclipsed with "This is Halloween" from The Nightmare Before Christmas. While getting excited for Halloween as a result, it also made me think about how Fluttershy saw the holiday season, and how she views it as the complete opposite from everyone else around her. This was also a time when Fluttershy was officially growing on me as a character and I was already falling in love with her. Feeling very empathetic for her situation, I decided to give her the Night I knew she deserved.

The writing process began with writing a few false starts to the story and researching everything I could about Halloween and the people who have a clinical fear for it (The title of the story). The whole research process lasted for about two months until I was finally able to think up a plot line I was satisfied with by late September. Writing the official story lasted about a month to make sure it was ready for the Halloween season.