The OC Storage System 10 members · 0 stories
Comments ( 22 )
  • Viewing 1 - 50 of 22

I am fairly new to the OC creation side of... well any fandom, really. I've never had to make a true OC before, because I do not count RPing, due to how often I simply use the cop out "self-insert" response. I'm fairly good, at least in my eyes, at staying mostly away from Mary Sues when I do RP, but I have very little experience using OCs in writing. I have a few ideas for what I might want to do with my first pony OC, but get nowhere because I don't really know what I'm doing... Can anyone help me?

Suke
Group Admin

2625623 A good method is choosing a special talent you are actually into. Maybe use your favourite colour. One of my first OCs was a green mare with brown hair (like myself) and a talent for climbing

I have tried that, believe me. I tend to end up as what some might call "a jack of many trades." Not trying to brag or exaggerate, but a lot of things I end up doing, I do fairly well with a little practice. That said, I am not really good at anything...

Suke
Group Admin

2625650 Hmmm... in a sec, i'll provide a more detailed example

Suke
Group Admin

2625657 So, I have Cliff Jumper, the climber. She's my favourite OC and as such I've used her countless times, adjusting her to suit the situation, yet never moving too far away from her original character. I can't actually go into much detail, because of that...

Ok... I know for color, at least, I will be using blues and and muted colors... and as for race, it shifts between Unicorn and Pegasus, mare and stallion, other than that, I have really one actual idea that could be helpful... which is having the OC be a cross-breed pony and zebra... that's really all I have that is slightly solid, and I don't know where to go from here...

Suke
Group Admin

2625783 I suggest Pegasus, because then you don't have to worry about accidentally OPing on magic