The Writers' Group 9,303 members · 56,570 stories
Comments ( 20 )
  • Viewing 1 - 50 of 20

I read a story with it years ago, but I can’t remember it for the life of me. We have plenty of words to describe what most characters eat — carnivore, omnivore, pescatarian, herbivore, octo-lacto vegetarian — but I can’t figure out what the right term for a gem-eating creature (like dragons) would be. Does anyone happen to know the right word?

Geovore? I have zero knowledge of if that's the right term, but it sounds cool.

Gemmivore if you want a neologism using same principles as herbivore. However I've seen fics using a whole array of different words. Silicivore comes to mind.

If a special word doesn't exist, just invent a new word the way Shakespeare did. Lockrime's "gemivore" is a good idea.

Minevore - mineral consuming

7955897 7955896
Geovore would be the accurate term.

So… it looks like keeping things consistent would require a Latin root (herbivore) or a French one (carnivore). Opting for the former appears to produce “gemmavore” (Jewel-eating) but my Latin isn’t that good so I’m not sure if it is the best option. Using French produces “bijouvore” (it means the same thing) but I’m also not particularly knowledgeable in French either.

The root there just means “earth” right? Wouldn’t that suggest that they also eat regular rocks? I don’t remember the dragons doing that.

I mean herbivores don't eat poisonous plants and carnivores don't eat bad meat. It doesn't imply they eat everything having to do with the word.

The correct and standardly accepted term for organisms that eat earth/stone is either lithovore/geovore (or possibly lithotroph, although that term is usually used for bacteria). The consumption of gems would be a subset of that.