The Writers' Group 9,300 members · 56,470 stories
Comments ( 21 )
  • Viewing 1 - 50 of 21

Writing and music are two completely different mediums yet, personally, they are both something I couldn't imaging living without. With that said I have a two part question for y'all.

First: Does anyone here need music to write? Now I know that sounds like a weird question but it isn't. As a writer myself I have difficulty writing a story some days but one way that helps me with ideas and getting in the mood is music. I just pop on some headphones and search for music to listen to. Its has been very beneficial for me and I have even written a short story completely based on a song I heard. I'm just curious if there are other who think like this as well, or am I the only one.

Second: How do you deal with music and musically influenced characters? In the stories I write, many of them involve music or someone who likes listening to music (it my thing I know) Though I only have made maybe one or two stories I use music in them and they are important components to the story. It is really difficult to express music in writing but, counting on the story and character, it is the most appropriate thing to have. Especially since the MLP universe has people like Octavia, Vinyl, Pinkie, and other such musical characters as well as a musical world, its a question worth asking.

Thank you for reading and have a nice day!

I always listen to music while I write. I personally dont like the complete silence when I just sit here,thinking about what to write next. I just need something to listen to (idk)

Firstly: Yes. Though really it's more like I need music to function somedays. :rainbowlaugh: