The Writers' Group 9,298 members · 56,449 stories
Comments ( 44 )
  • Viewing 1 - 50 of 44

As a struggling author, I was wondering what you guys think is the best way to make a meaningful entrance into the FIM fiction community. I've been lurking around this website for almost a whole year and still haven't posted a story of my own, so I was just wondering:

Is it better to start with a one-shot or go ahead and write a multi-chapter story?

Or perhaps you'd recommend getting practice some other way? What are your thoughts?

I dunno. I'm starting with a three chapter, 10k word... wordy thing. I plan to write stories and throw them at groups until I become rich and famous and totally not lonely anymore. :yay:

Hm. I should give you more encouragement than that. Don't stress about what will be 'more popular' or anything like that. Write what you want to write. Tell excellent stories. A grand entrance may seem appealing, but staying around and being the life of the party itself will make you remembered.

Actually, thought. What do you mean by practice?

I just had an idea for a story, so I got myself an account and I started posting it. Then I got another idea and finished the second story before the first one. I'm not sure if there's a "correct" way.

What I did was just start writing my own story. I didn't really care of the outcome of it, I just wanted to write.

Now, I have one main story, a completed multi-chapter turned one-shot (It's an HiE, more specifically a SiE), and another short story that is nearing completion.

If you like to write, then write for yourself, not souly for the pleasure of others.

That's hard. From one who's planning to make a technically "re-entry":

If it's a one-shot, it better be special/unique. Well, any idea should be unique, no matter what story.

Multi-chapter, I say start it out with at least two chapters each minimum 2k and maxing out at a nice 8k.