The Writers' Group 9,298 members · 56,449 stories
Comments ( 18 )
  • Viewing 1 - 50 of 18

I've heard before that being wasteful with words when writing is a terrible thing to do, that dialogue should be used only to advance the story or develop the characters.

And since I'm new to writing I'm not sure if I can pull it out yet.
I'm not sure if writing casual dialogue could fit into any of those categories but I want to have it into my fics.

Would having the ponies chat about their favorite flowers to eat and their favorite flowers to use as decorations be, well, aproppiate?
Or it would distract from the story and add nothing, needing to be scrapped in favor of more relevant scenes?
Or it would actually be relevant, adding depth to the characters and describing those little nuances and details that can make you identify with the character or just think "I love that horse, that horse makes me laugh"?

Eh
Eh #2 · Apr 12th, 2013 · · ·

Depends on the kind of story you're writing.

Small talk in slice-of-life stories is fine, even required in most cases.

Actiony adventure stuff is a different story, but you have to provide characterization somehow.

If you can pull it off, the small talk could serve as a good insight into the characters, much like you stated at the end of your post.

Really, it comes down to good writing.

You say you are new, so just try and draft out a scene involving the characters in question. Read it over and judge for yourself if it flows well and feels like it's worth your time to read it, and doesn't just feel like filler content. If you like it, chances are your readers will as well.

You're asking the right questions, and even though you're new, I can see potential there.

It depends on the fic to begin with. I'd say that if it's slice of life, it would be normal to have dialogue every now and then. Plus, it also depends on the content contained within the dialogue.