Advisors' Cove 59 members · 60 stories
Comments ( 2 )
  • Viewing 1 - 50 of 2
Petrichord
Group Contributor
TReturning Home
Maud has to return home after a rash decision and face the choosing stone. Will the rock help her or betray her?
Short-tale · 18k words  ·  11  1 · 215 views

Hello, everyone! Since this is my first time creating a review for this group, my formatting may be subject to change - as might my tone and, frankly, everything else. My goal is to provide a thorough and insightful review of the story at hand while keeping relatively concise; hopefully, what I have to bring to the table will prove useful to writers curious about a more formal sort of feedback to their story/stories.

So let’s see what we have today:

(Teen, Romance/Drama/Slice of Life; Maud Pie, Starlight Glimmer and Limestone/Marble Pie.)

Starlight and Maud get engaged but didn’t visit the choosing stone first. It was against Pie tradition and Ma isn’t going to forget that. The couple has to go to the farm and make amends. Will it lead to a happy married life or the end of their relationship? Maud isn’t sure. It’s a rock based decision.

Forewarning: unmarked spoilers ahead.

Starting Score: 0/10 points.

Ahh, StarMaud shipping. Not the most common ship out there, but certainly one I’m familiar with, alongside the sort of dynamic that’s to be expected from that sort of thing. One thing I want to stress, though, is that just because a pairing is conventional doesn’t make it a bad thing. It might have to work a little harder to stand out from its peers, sure, but quality of writing always shines through in the end.

Only one way to find out if the quality buoys the story towards a high score, isn’t there?

Originality: +1 (out of +1.5) points

Immediately, of course, I sound like I’m off of my gourd. Not undeservedly, of course; here I’ve gone, talking about how StarMaud is a semi-conventional shipping, and then I give the story relatively high marks for Originality.