One-Shots 2,371 members · 19,011 stories
Comments ( 23 )
  • Viewing 1 - 50 of 23

I like writing one-shots more than I do writing stories with multiple chapters. I'm not good at explaining in depth as to why, but I guess it's because I also enjoy reading short stories. Another thing I like about one-shots is that I can do many creative things with one main idea.

What about you?

4801695 Simply put, I'm a busy guy.

I don't have time to get invested in big, 200k word stories. I don't have the patience to get engrossed in a story that demands me to sink hours and hours to get to know the characters.

For me, stories have to be like bullets: go in, go out, and make a hell of an impact. If they don't, then chances are, they aren't going to give me much reason to stay, since the long haul is something I'm quite frankly rarely prepared to give.

Not that I don't enjoy longer stories... of course, some are great. But when it comes to pure comfort, short stories are what are the easiest for me to read.

4801695 Some novels are made just to be made. That's bad. They don't have a point to give across. Even the author may have not had a clue where the story was going to.

Such is not the case with one-shots. With them, you know that you'll at least get the main idea out of it without putting in a lot of effort.

I enjoy the completeness of a one shot. While multiple chapters allows for a longer story, that doesn't exactly make it a good story. A well done one shot often has more impact than a multi chapter story, in my opinion.

I just find I produce stories with greater impact more easily when I'm writing one-shots. I don't need to worry about setting up a long narrative to give things weight, I can do that through character and narrative voice. One-shots let me get to the meat of the story right off the bat and focus on the things I'm actually good at in writing.