Author Support 2,072 members · 4,384 stories
Comments ( 14 )
  • Viewing 1 - 50 of 14

Since I'm new to creating stories, I wanted to see if anyone would mind helping me with an EaW fanfic.

Equestria at war, it's a mod for hearts of iron 4. It actually got me into the fandom in the first place

Not familiar with either

there are videos of it on youtube if anyone wants to see what's it all about

I think you’ll have far more luck in this group, then.

I did ask for help over there, but I'm just looking for any co-author. you don't have to know the material, just make sure I can avoid dumb mistakes.

Well, you might then consider looking for an editor rather than a co-author. They can make sure that your grammar, spelling and such is fine, plus they’ll keep an eye out for plot holes, scenes that don’t work, et cetera.

thank you for the suggestion, to be honest, I'm willing to take anything.
I'm an idiot sometimes, so it'd be nice for someone to point me in the right direction.

Heh, it's a dangerous world out there, so it's good to not write alone. Some editors always lurk there, so if you are lucky, you'll find someone good. Ideally ask them about their past editing experiences and make sure that they know how to handle all your writing issues.

Also, you might want to look into Grammarly and other spell-checking programs. They cannot beat a human editor, and most are made for correspondence and essays rather than stories, but they are still able to catch a good deal of errors.

I would suggest writing a bunch of short stories to hone your skills.
Then if you feel up to it, write something longer.

I also suggest that you learn the craft, what they call the guidelines/rules in writing.
Why?