Behind The Fic(s) 134 members · 355 stories
Comments ( 1 )
  • Viewing 1 - 50 of 1

I've been writing MLP fanfics since about 2012, and I took a long break between late 2013 and mid 2015. In that time, I did a lot of study on how to structure a story and how to make a compelling narrative and characters, so the stuff I'm writing now is definitely of better quality than my first fics. Two of them have even been featured on EQD!

My first fic that shall go unnamed due to its insanely poor quality (hindsight is 20/20) was set up as a big fat adventure story, starring my self-insert OC. As far as why I started writing, I had just finished reading Past Sins by Pen Stroke and was hit with a stroke of drive that I still haven't been able to quite replicate. At its zenith I managed to hit 18 published chapters and it had a pretty decent following. Feeling all cocksure and having puffed up my chest, I made the decision to submit it to EQD since nothing could possibly be bad about my story... Oh how hopelessly naive I was. The list of flaws that came back was as long as I am tall (I'm 6'1", so yeah), and I'd say that that rejection threw me into a massive funk that caused my self-imposed hiatus.