The Pleasant Commentator and Review Group! 1,288 members · 149 stories
Comments ( 2 )
  • Viewing 1 - 50 of 2

Name of Story: Fluttershy's Iron Will

As a doctor, I am often asked about proper reader nutrition. My reply is always the same: read stories with more fiber. So many fic readers allow themselves to eat stories with little or no nutritive value, but who is ultimately responsible? The readers are hungry for good fic, and it is up to the writers to give them a satisfying read.

Some will binge on a particular ship, and not give much thought to the quality of the story. Most will eschew the quick fix, and wait for a complex and detailed story to present itself.

Which brings us to Fluttershy's Iron Will.

Pros:
1. Interesting ship! This is an idea that has a great amount of room for the author to explore, and so much can be made of the dynamic between the three main characters.

2. Sparkle Cola has a solid grasp of the mechanics, and I am comfortable with his style of storytelling.

3. There are moments of excellence and solid hilarity. This fic has legs, and can run.

Cons:
1. Problems with the character dynamic limit my enjoyment of the story.

2. We are given backstory through the characters, but we are still being told and not shown.

3. I don't want to get too deep into the social dynamics of this fanfic, but Fluttershy's motivations are curious to say the least.

Notes:

"Show, don't tell." That old saw.

But it is relevant in all storytelling. We have a backstory, and we need to impart the recent goings-on to the reader, so what do we do? We have the characters talk about recent goings-on.

Fluttershy furrowed her brows as she cocked her head to the side. “I told you, Discord. We aren’t dating!"

Discord folded one arm across his chest while drumming the fingers of his other hand across his cheekbone, murmuring almost inaudibly. "Oh yes... right..."