Bronies who play musical instruments 147 members · 45 stories
Comments ( 25 )
  • Viewing 1 - 50 of 25

Now, I've been in a band for a little over a year and a half, but I've been a musician since long before then. (For reference, I play drums, bass, and keyboard, alongside being a vocalist), and I have a question for all of my fellow musicians. Why do drummers and bass players get no respect? :rainbowhuh:
Literally anywhere I go, people are convinced that drums and bass guitar are the "talentless" instruments. In fact, a majority of guitarists I've met insist that both instruments are ridiculously easy and take no talent, despite having never played either of them. :ajbemused:
Sorry if I seem like I'm whining; I really don't mean to come across that way. I'm more confused than upset, honestly, but over all I'm just tired of being referred to as a "fake musician." :ajsleepy:
Anyway, what do you guys think of all this? :applejackunsure:

Oh, and just for reference, Bass is not all I do in the band. I'm the drummer aswell, along with backup vocals. Aside from that I also do a majority of the management and production, aswell as being a co-founder (along with the lead vocalist).

4876618 Guitarists and vocalists have a habit of getting "frontman syndrome." Since they do all the lead, flashy stuff, they get an ego. It's funny because bass and drums are literally the most important things in a band. Without one, the song sounds lacking. Case in point:

They're not using a bass guitar since the bassist is on keyboard, and it really shows. The guitar feels weak and superficial.

That just sounds like ur talking to a newb. Drums are literally the most important instrument in pretty much everything and anything with a tempo, and that's coming from a guitarist. Bass guitar is also my favourite instrument even though I don't usually play it.