Bronies who play musical instruments 147 members · 45 stories
Comments ( 25 )
  • Viewing 1 - 50 of 25

I mean, think about it.

Justin King:

Mark Kroos:

Ben Randall:

And I'm not 100% sure but I think Eddie Van Halen might have been self-taught.

what about brian may, carlos santana, mark knopfler, slash and the likes?

4085639 I've never heard of any of those guys except for slash, and though he's admirable, I don't think he should be considered one of the greats.

OH MY GUSH!!!Dr Brian may is the lead guiter of queen, carlos santana is an awesome latin rock guitar player, mark knopfler was the lead guiter of dire striats, next thing you say you never heard of eric clapton

just so you won't get it, here are some songs that show the skills
Dr (PhD in physics) Brian May (Was hard to find live since the song came after they stopped proforming since the lead singer was fallng apart for AIDS)(The lead singer was ferady mercory, who died in 1991, from AIDS, the last live show he did was in 1986)

Carlos Santana

Mark Knopfler

and just in case you don't know, Eric Clapton

I've never really been one for lessons, because alot of the times it's boring things that I didn't come to learn. Chords, scales, modes, the works. In my opinion, if you can make a good riff, you don't need chords. Now, don't get it twisted, chords can help with the making of a good riff, but ultimately, if you're making good riffs, you've probably gotten past the need for chords in the first place. Plus, when it comes to scales and modes, you can just figure your own out, or just straight not use one.

That being said, almost all of my favourite guitarists are self-taught.

People such as George Harrison (The Beatles), Eddie Van Halen (Van Halen), Leigh Stephens (Blue Cheer), Slash (Gn'R), Tony Iommi (Black Sabbath), Mick Mars (Motley Crue), Rory Gallagher (Rory Gallagher), Jarret Netnin (Satan's Satyrs), were all self taught, and they all kick ass.