Twilestia is Bestia 3,265 members · 956 stories
Comments ( 30 )
  • Viewing 1 - 50 of 30

Hello everypony! I have lurked on this website for ages and I suppose it is about time I finally get around to contributing. I am in the early stages of planning my first FiM fanfic featuring the unparalleled pairing of Twilight Sparkle and Princess Celestia. It will also be my first fanfic period.

While I have years of experience writing academically, I have very little experience writing prose. I’m afraid of publishing something subpar, and living up to the fanfiction stereotype. Any advice on plotting, pacing, parlance, and pairing buildup for Twilestia writers would be deeply appreciated.

In particular, Celestia’s character seems somewhat daunting to approach. She is the very embodiment of perfection in FiM and that complicates shipping. I have seen stories try to make her approachable by filling her with inner demons and guilt over Luna’s banishment. Adding small elements that show that even though she is beautiful, kind, caring, and eternal, she still cries, loves, and is entirely capable of being in a relationship without our adorkable Twilight.

I don’t want to stray too far from the Celestia we know and love though. I would hate to be anywhere within a 49 1/2 inch pole range of a story featuring Celestia with a suspiciously full statue garden. Do any Twilestia writers have tips on approaching Celestia’s perfection? As readers how do you like to see this addressed?

Similarly, it seems for a good shipfic Twilight needs to move closer to Celestia’s level, but it is important to also preserve our timid, neurotic, and obsessive bookworm? I thought that Composure handled this well by presenting Twilight as a graduate rather than Celestia’s pupil. Replacing the teacher-student bond with a mentor-student bond worked well. The pairing felt more balanced. What are everyone's thoughts on addressing the student/teacher imbalance?